Dear Writer-Friends,

I've been self-publishing since 2011, and I've shared the knowledge I've gained in two books: the Indie Author Survival Guide, Second Edition, and For Love or Money. I'm not an indie rockstar or a breakout success: I'm one of thousands of solidly midlist indie authors making a living with their works. These books are my way of helping my fellow authors discover the freedom of indie publishing. Write on, writer-friends!

S.K. Quinn, Independent Author of Science Fiction

CLICK HERE TO GET YOUR QUICK START GUIDE TO SELF-PUBLISHING and to be notified when the 3rd Edition of the Indie Author Survival Guide releases!

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

What to Read Next ...?

I love this blurb from Publisher's Weekly about YA, and how 55% of YA readers are adults. Hm...wonder why that is...possibly because YA is AWESOME? Yes, I think so.

The Indelibles are primarily YA authors, but they also are branching out into adult and MG fic. Below is a guide we put together to help you find the flavor of indie YA that you will enjoy most. I hope you'll find a great new read!

You know those great lists that help you find your next favorite book?

Readers who enjoyed Harry Potter should try ...
<insert book name here>

The Indelibles have made an easy comparison list to famous books in their genre,
to help you find an Indelible book you'll love.

If you liked...
Try...
Twilight
Ally Carter's
Gallagher Girls
Hourglass
by Myra McEntire
The Hunger Games
The Vampire Diaries
City of Bones
Perfect Chemistry
Hush Hush
The Mortal Instruments
The Outsiders
Evermore
by Alyson Noel
Wicked Lovely series by
Melissa Marr
The Lux series by
Jennifer L. Armentrout
Hart of Dixie
Click on covers to buy

Add your own comparison recommendations in the comments!
(Links as well)



24 comments:

  1. Awesome! Lots of good books there! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I loved that blurb in PW, too! And what a fabulous chart you all have. That is awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Readers who enjoyed Phantom of the Opera will love Transcend...

    LOVE THIS THIS!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh, great list! :) Also, I think readers who liked Hunger Games would like Susan Bischoff's series (though the third one isn't out, and I don't think she has a date for it yet... :( ).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Do you mean Impulse Control (Talent Chronicles)? Those do look cool! (p.s. the first one is FREE)

      Delete
    2. I believe Impulse Control is the free novella she wrote that's set in the same universe. But yes, the books are the Talent Chronicles! So good!

      Delete
    3. Susan's books are wonderful! There's an excerpt of Hush Money in the back of the Zellie books.

      Delete
  5. Oh, and I just thought of another one! If you liked Forest of Hands and Teeth, you should read The Scourge by A.G. Henley. Another indie gem. :D Okay, going back to work now...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I keep seeing Scourge on the "also-boughts" lists for Open Minds! Makes me think I should also buy it. :)

      Delete
  6. Ali Cross's BECOME reminds me a lot of Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton. Great list!! :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love that it goes the other way too! :) If you liked BECOME (I LOVED IT), you might also like Angelfire.

      Delete
  7. You're always so helpful, Susan! YA is popular now, so comparisons are welcome, especially since Christmas is only a few months away. (Good idea to get people thinking of alternate books in the indie arena.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ah, Christmas! You're right, this would be a great thing to bring back again when we get closer to the holiday. :)

      Delete
  8. This list is a great idea, Susan! It would be cool to store this somewhere public and allow readers to add to it. And to your point, I have seen Open Minds for a while in The Scourge's "also boughts" on Amazon and I did buy (and really enjoyed) it. Looking forward to reading Closed Hearts as well. Thank you for the mention, Adriana!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A.G.! So nice to connect with you here! And I'm blushing that you bought Open Minds (and so glad you liked it). Clearly I need to bump Scourge up on my TBR list. Thanks for stopping by and keep in touch!

      p.s. This list is permanently posted on The Indelibles site, but I like the idea of having a spot for people to add to the list...will have to ponder this...

      Delete
    2. I subscribe to your posts, too. Always great info up in here for us Indies. I will keep in touch -

      Delete
    3. Aw, thanks! (Just subscribed to yours too...) I thought I recognized your name from some earlier comments! *facepalm* My brain just isn't always working.

      Delete
  9. Actually, I think it's from Twitter. We followed each other not long ago. Anyway, it's nice to "chat" with you.

    Oh, I may have commented on your son's blog, too! He's very impressive - I hope my daughter will follow in his footsteps as an Indie author before long. She loves to write, too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ah, that's it!

      We should get them together as critique partners! :) Oh, wait, she'll have to take the paper test. LOL

      Seriously, I love that the kids are into writing, and that there's an avenue for them to see themselves in print. #awesome

      Delete
  10. What great comparisons and recommendations, love it!

    ReplyDelete

Erudite comments from thoughtful readers